Disaster Proclamation

Gov. Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation Monday, August 30, 2021 for Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Howard and Winneshiek Counties in response to severe weather beginning August 24, 2021 and continuing. The governor’s proclamation activated the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) and the Iowa Disaster Case Management program. Bremer and Fayette Counties, which also sustained impact from the most recent severe weather, were previously included in a disaster proclamation issued by Gov. Reynolds on August 26 that allows these same state resources to be utilized.

Individuals suffering loss as a result of the severe weather should contact the Community Action Agency in their county:

Northeast Iowa Community Action Corporation

Allamakee County Family Services Office 563-568-4224

Bremer County Family Services Office 319-352-4532

Chickasaw County Family Services Office 641-394-2007

Clayton County Family Services Office 563-245-2452

Fayette County Family Services Office at 319-283-2510 (Oelwein) or 563-422-3354 (West Union)

Howard County Family Services Office 563-547-4413

Winneshiek County Family Services Office 563-387-4958

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) may provide grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. Application must be made through your local community action office. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of proclamation to submit a claim. For more information or to download an application, visit https://dhs.iowa.gov/disaster-assistance-programs.

Page 1 of 2

The Iowa Disaster Case Management (IDCM) program is to address serious needs related to disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions. Disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice and referral to obtain a service or resource. There are no income eligibility requirements for Disaster Case Management and there is no direct financial assistance provide by Disaster Case Management. Disaster Case Management closes 180 days from the date of the governor’s proclamation.

Additionally, residents of counties impacted by the recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the damage sustained. Damage to property, roads, utilities, and other storm-related information may be reported. This information will be collected by the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and shared with local emergency management agencies. Damage may be reported at www.homelandsecurity.iowa.gov.