top of page

DOT Raise Grants

BUTLER COUNTY, IOWA – The City of Dubuque and a coalition of three counties, Floyd, Fayette and Bremer, will each receive $25 million from the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) RAISE grant program to enhance safety in urban neighborhoods and replace approximately 29 bridges across Northeast Iowa. The RAISE program was funded by the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), which U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) supported in 2021. 


“The health and wellbeing of our communities rely on sound transportation infrastructure. These federal resources will bolster public safety and make Northeast Iowa a better place to live,” Grassley said. “The bipartisan infrastructure law continues to support investments in Iowa’s future. I’m glad to see Iowans’ hard-earned tax dollars return to our state.” 


Award Information: 


The City of Dubuque will receive $25,000,000 to construct:  

  • A grade-separated overpass on 14th Street over the Canadian Pacific Kansas City rail tracks;

  • Roundabouts along 16th Street, Complete Street enhancements on 16th Street and Elm Street;

  • A shared-use path on 16th Street across the Peosta Channel Bridge.


Three counties, including Floyd, Bremer and Fayette, will receive $25,000,000 to replace approximately 29 bridges in obsolete or poor condition. Of the 29 bridges, seven are located in Floyd County, five are in Bremer County and 17 are in Fayette County.  




bottom of page