top of page

Iowa Farm Bureau Awards



WEST DES MOINES, Iowa—April 24, 2024— The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has granted scholarships to 109 current and future college students looking to further their post-high school education within the agricultural industry.

Twenty-seven scholarships were awarded to first-time recipients, and 78 scholarships were renewed for 2024. Scholarships are renewable up to four years, or $10,000, for students planning to obtain a two- or four-year degree at an accredited higher education institution, including community colleges and technical schools. Eligibility is based on Farm Bureau membership, academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation. Additionally, students prepared an essay outlining their commitment to rural Iowa.

 “One of Iowa Farm Bureau’s pillars is our focus on youth and education, and these scholarships support those efforts,” says Ronnette Vondrak, Iowa Farm Bureau community resources manager. “Providing the opportunity for young individuals to contribute new ideas, research and innovation is essential to bolstering the resilience of the family farm and agricultural industry. Particularly when one in five Iowa jobs is connected to agriculture, making it a vital component of Iowa's economy and rural communities.”

In addition, Cody Messer of New London received the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 scholarship award for a student residing in southeast Iowa. Nicoa McClure of Eldon was awarded the Edward W. and Isabella M. Klodt scholarship, a one-time $500 scholarship award given to a student residing in Wapello County. Brooke Hansel of Guttenberg and Kayleese Thoma of Dubuque were named Robert H. Rewoldt scholarship recipients, a $3,000 scholarship given to a student in northeast Iowa and renewable up to two years.


About Iowa Farm Bureau

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation is the largest statewide, grassroots farm organization in Iowa, celebrating 100 years of creating a vibrant future for agriculture, farm families and their communities.  For more information, visit

Editor’s Note: First-time scholarship winners (listed alphabetically by hometown), parent names and future or current college are listed below.



Ackley, Kierra Dodd, Aaron & Shayna Dodd, Iowa State University

Albia, Trell Amoss, Troy & Lori Amoss, Oklahoma State University

Atlantic, Claire Pellett, Brad & Kristy Pellett, Iowa State University

Charles City, Taylor Quade, Mike & Tammy Quade, North Iowa Area Community College-transfer to Iowa State University

Clearfield, William Bolinger, Wade & Angela Bolinger, Iowa State University

Correctionville, Lizabeth Hamann, Jana & Lance Hamann, Iowa State University

Earlham, Claire Burger, Erica & Ryan Burger, Iowa State University

Earlville, Haley Ronnebaum, Mitchell & Jenifer Ronnebaum, Iowa State University

Garner, Mason Graham, Mathew Graham, Iowa State University

Lime Springs, Kaleb Adams, Michael Adams & Melissa Adams, Iowa State University

Long Grove, Cole Wessel, Brian & Heather Wessel, Iowa State University

Marathon, Allison Ehlers, Mike & Michelle Ehlers, Dordt University

Marion, Rylie Bucklin, Max & Cathy Bucklin, Luther College

Melbourne, Julie Damman, John & Darci Damman, Iowa State University

Merrill, Desiree Breuer, Carmen & Nick Breuer, University of South Dakota

Nevada, Madalyn Gibson, Adam Gibson, Iowa State University

Newton, Lauren Van Manen, Todd & Sara Van Manen, Iowa State University

Orient, Tucker Rohrig, Matt & Heidi Rohrig, Iowa State University

Rock Rapids, Lilly Henry, Mark & Carol Henry, Dordt University

Shelby, Delaney Goshorn, Adam & Katie Goshorn, Kansas State University

Spencer, Aubrie Stell, Melissa Stell, South Dakota State University

Sperry, Jennifer Lohmann, Scott & Kim Lohmann, Iowa State University

Wapello, Jacie Hoeg, Chris & Kelli Hoeg, Iowa State University

Wayland, Marie Farmer, Chad Farmer, Kirkwood Community College

Weldon, Hadley Bell, Heidi & Lance Bell, Iowa State University

Westgate, Anna Egan, David & Kelly Egan, Iowa State University

Williamsburg, Erin Driscoll, Dawn & Joe Driscoll, Kansas State University



bottom of page