top of page

Keystone AEA Elections

Elections for five members of the Board of Directors of the Keystone Area Education Agency will be conducted in November.

Director District 2 includes the Central, Postville, and South Winneshiek Community School Districts, and a portion of the Decorah Community School District: all precincts and wards in the City of Decorah, the Decorah township in Supervisor District 4 and the townships of Bloomfield, Canoe, Frankville, Glenwood, Hesper, Highland, Military, Pleasant, and Springfield in Winneshiek county.

Director District 4 includes the North Fayette Valley, Oelwein, Starmont and West Central Community School Districts.

Director District 5 includes the Maquoketa Valley and West Delaware Community School Districts as well as the Delaware county area and Dubuque County precincts 24, 25, 26, 27 (Dyersville), 28 (Dyersville) of the Western Dubuque Community School District.

Director District 8 includes the Dubuque County precincts 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 in the Dubuque Community School District.

Director District 9 includes the Dubuque County precincts 3, 4, 5, 6, 21, 22, 23 in the Dubuque Community School District.

Current directors are Michael Haluska of Decorah in Director District 2; Sue Updegraff of West Union in Director District 4; Kelly Jared of Manchester in Director District 5; Jean McDonald of Dubuque in Director District 8; and George Holland of Dubuque in Director District 9.

These positions are for four-year terms that will expire in December 2027.

The elections are conducted in accordance with Section 273 of the Code of Iowa. Nominations may be submitted by filing a Statement of Candidacy form with the board secretary of the Keystone AEA on or before October 15, 2023. If no candidate files by the deadline, a convention will be scheduled with prior notice given, and persons may file for candidacy or be nominated at the convention. Each board of education within the director district may cast a vote, weighted according to the school district’s population, for the election of a member to the Agency's Board of Directors.

Statement of Candidacy forms may be obtained by contacting Julie Tschirgi, Keystone AEA Board Secretary, in Elkader at 563-245-1480.

bottom of page